Jishin

What’s Jishin? It’s Japanese and it means earthquake.

I hadn’t experienced any earthquake in my life before coming to Japan and now, I get it like once or twice a week. Earthquake differs from place to place in magnitude and frequency. In my town, it usually comes in the afternoon at around 2pm, and 5am – 6am in the morning. I have been awakened over 5 times midnight between 5 and 6 for the last 2 months. The most recent one was this Monday. It’s really annoying as it comes at the time when you’re in your dreams. You may wonder if the quake is part of your dream or not. A huge number of people will get killed myself included I am pretty sure if a quake hits midnight, when you’re in the least defensive mode.

Leave a Reply

