Art work of students – a side of Japanese culture

Japan is a country whose people place tremendous value on colours.

I remember last month when I’d been trying to get a cell phone, the first thing the assistant asked me was what colour I like. Coincidentally I was asked exactly the same question by my boss when he was trying to arrange a phone for me. In school, students art works are hung up in many places and many of them are full of brilliant colours. That’s one of the reasons I figure why sketches are less valued in Japan compared with the West. Honestly, I haven’t seen any sketch works being displayed in any school.

Leave a Reply

